Law Hired vs Clio pricing: which costs less?
It depends on how many lawyers you have. Law Hired charges one flat price per firm: Solo $59 a month ($49 billed annually) for 1 lawyer; Practice $189 a month ($159 billed annually) for 2–5 lawyers; Firm $449 a month ($379 billed annually) for 6–20 lawyers; Scale $999 a month ($849 billed annually) for 21+ lawyers, unlimited. Clio charges per user and publishes a price only for its entry Starter plan, from $49 per user per month; Core, Signature and Elite are quoted on request, and Starter does not include Clio’s AI. Against that published Starter price, on Law Hired’s annual billing the two are equal at 1 lawyer, Clio Starter costs less at 2–3 and 6–7 lawyers, and Law Hired costs less at 4–5 lawyers and at every size from 8 lawyers up. Law Hired takes 0% of your billings, on every plan.
Law Hired: 4 plans priced per firm, never per seat. Adding a lawyer inside a band does not change the bill.
Clio: priced per user. Only Starter has a published price ($49 per user per month, starting at); the other three plans are quoted.
On published prices, Clio Starter is cheaper at 2–3 and 6–7 lawyers, and Law Hired is cheaper at 4–5 lawyers and at every size from 8 lawyers up. Clio’s quoted plans cost more than Starter, so against them the comparison only moves toward Law Hired.
Both include things the other charges extra for or does not offer: Clio includes its own accounting on every plan; Law Hired includes legal AI, a hosted firm website and a 30-day trial on every plan.
Law Hired plans
Every figure is the one the pricing page and checkout use.
| Plan | Lawyers | Billed monthly | Billed annually, per month | Billed annually, per year | Storage | Included premium AI credit, per month |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | 1 lawyer | $59 | $49 | $588 | 25 GB | $12 |
| Practice | 2–5 lawyers | $189 | $159 | $1,908 | 50 GB | $25 |
| Firm | 6–20 lawyers | $449 | $379 | $4,548 | 100 GB | $40 |
| Scale | 21+ lawyers, unlimited | $999 | $849 | $10,188 | 500 GB | $120 |
Clio plans
As Clio publishes them on its pricing page, read 2026-10-25.
| Plan | Published price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | From $49 per user per month, billed annually | Published as "Starting at $49/user"; $49 is the annual-billing rate and Clio’s plan picker shows $59 per user per month when paid monthly. |
| Core | Not published | Price not published; Clio asks you to get pricing. |
| Signature | Not published | Price not published; Clio asks you to get pricing. |
| Elite | Not published | Price not published; bundles Clio Grow. |
What a firm pays in a year, by size
Law Hired’s plan for each size against Clio Starter at its published starting price ($49 × users × 12). Starter is Clio’s lowest plan and has no AI, so this is the most favourable comparison for Clio; its quoted plans cost more.
| Lawyers | Law Hired plan | Law Hired, billed annually | Law Hired, billed monthly | Law Hired per lawyer per month (annual) | Clio Starter at published price | Annual difference |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Solo | $588 a year | $708 a year | $49.00 | $588 a year | Same |
| 2 | Practice | $1,908 a year | $2,268 a year | $79.50 | $1,176 a year | Clio Starter $732 less |
| 3 | Practice | $1,908 a year | $2,268 a year | $53.00 | $1,764 a year | Clio Starter $144 less |
| 4 | Practice | $1,908 a year | $2,268 a year | $39.75 | $2,352 a year | Law Hired $444 less |
| 5 | Practice | $1,908 a year | $2,268 a year | $31.80 | $2,940 a year | Law Hired $1,032 less |
| 6 | Firm | $4,548 a year | $5,388 a year | $63.17 | $3,528 a year | Clio Starter $1,020 less |
| 7 | Firm | $4,548 a year | $5,388 a year | $54.14 | $4,116 a year | Clio Starter $432 less |
| 8 | Firm | $4,548 a year | $5,388 a year | $47.38 | $4,704 a year | Law Hired $156 less |
| 10 | Firm | $4,548 a year | $5,388 a year | $37.90 | $5,880 a year | Law Hired $1,332 less |
| 12 | Firm | $4,548 a year | $5,388 a year | $31.58 | $7,056 a year | Law Hired $2,508 less |
| 15 | Firm | $4,548 a year | $5,388 a year | $25.27 | $8,820 a year | Law Hired $4,272 less |
| 20 | Firm | $4,548 a year | $5,388 a year | $18.95 | $11,760 a year | Law Hired $7,212 less |
| 21 | Scale | $10,188 a year | $11,988 a year | $40.43 | $12,348 a year | Law Hired $2,160 less |
| 25 | Scale | $10,188 a year | $11,988 a year | $33.96 | $14,700 a year | Law Hired $4,512 less |
| 30 | Scale | $10,188 a year | $11,988 a year | $28.30 | $17,640 a year | Law Hired $7,452 less |
| 40 | Scale | $10,188 a year | $11,988 a year | $21.22 | $23,520 a year | Law Hired $13,332 less |
| 50 | Scale | $10,188 a year | $11,988 a year | $16.98 | $29,400 a year | Law Hired $19,212 less |
What the price includes
Side by side, item by item. Clio’s column is Clio’s own statement.
| Item | Law Hired | Clio (as Clio states it) |
|---|---|---|
| How the price is set | Per firm, by seat band. Adding a lawyer inside the band does not change the bill. | Per user |
| Share of your legal fees | 0% on every plan. | No percentage of legal fees is stated; Clio charges a subscription per user. |
| Legal AI | Included on every plan. The default model tier does not draw on any credit; premium models (Claude, OpenAI) draw on an included monthly credit of $12 on Solo, $25 on Practice, $40 on Firm, $120 on Scale. A firm’s own provider key never draws on it. | AI is included on Core and above; Starter does not include it. |
| Accounting | Trust and operating ledgers, time and billing are built in. There is no general ledger; it syncs with QuickBooks Online or Xero. | Clio Accounting is included on every plan. |
| Intake and CRM | Intake forms, AI intake triage and lead management are on every plan. | Clio Grow (intake and CRM) is included in Elite and sold as an add-on otherwise. |
| Firm website | A hosted firm website is included on every plan. | An included hosted website is not stated. |
| Document storage | Solo 25 GB, Practice 50 GB, Firm 100 GB, Scale 500 GB. | Unlimited document storage on every plan. |
| Client portal and mobile apps | Included on every plan. | Clio’s plan picker lists it from Essentials, not in the entry plan. |
| Single sign-on (SAML) and SCIM | Listed among the Scale plan’s inclusions. | See Clio’s plan comparison. |
| Integrations | A smaller set of operational integrations plus migration connectors. | Clio advertises more than 300 integrations. |
| Free trial | 30 days. | See Clio’s site. |
| Annual billing | About 16% less than monthly (e.g. Solo $49 instead of $59). | Not stated on the pricing page. |
| Cancelling | Cancel at any time; it takes effect at the end of the billing period. Subscription fees are non-refundable except as the billing policy states. | Cancel at any time; the cancellation takes effect at the end of the current term. |
| Moving from Clio | A Clio migration connector moves contacts, matters, calendar, tasks, notes, time, expenses, invoices, trust transactions and documents. | Not applicable. |
How AI is billed on Law Hired
AI is the cost most likely to grow with use, so here is exactly how it is counted.
| Use | Counts against the included credit? | What happens when the credit is used up |
|---|---|---|
| Default model tier | No. It is included on every plan. | Keeps working. |
| Premium models (Claude, OpenAI) through Law Hired | Yes, at the provider’s metered cost. | Premium-model actions pause until the credit renews; the default tier keeps working. |
| The firm’s own provider key | No. The firm pays its provider directly. | Keeps working. |
Per firm against per user
Clio’s bill is the number of users times the plan price, so it rises with every hire. Law Hired’s bill changes only when the firm crosses a seat band, which is why it is dearer than Clio Starter just below a band’s ceiling and cheaper as the band fills up.
Starter is not the whole of Clio
The published $49 buys Clio’s entry plan, which Clio says has no AI. Its Core, Signature and Elite plans, which add AI and more, are quoted on request, so any firm that needs them pays more than the Starter figures above.
Where Clio is the better buy
For 2–3 and 6–7 lawyers who need only Starter’s features, Clio Starter costs less on published prices. Clio also includes native accounting, has a far larger integration catalogue and a longer operating record, and states a SOC 2 Type II report.
Where Law Hired is the better buy
At 4–5 lawyers and at every size from 8 lawyers up, the flat price is lower than Clio’s lowest published plan, before Clio’s quoted plans or add-ons. Law Hired also includes legal AI, a firm website, the Co-Counsel Network and Talent Hub on the plans that list them, and takes 0% of what you bill.
Questions people also ask
How much does Clio cost?
Clio publishes one price: Starter from $49 per user per month. Core, Signature and Elite are quoted on request.
How much does Law Hired cost?
Solo $59 a month for 1 lawyer; Practice $189 a month for 2–5 lawyers; Firm $449 a month for 6–20 lawyers; Scale $999 a month for 21+ lawyers, unlimited. Billed annually: $49, $159, $379, $849 a month.
Is Law Hired cheaper than Clio?
At 4–5 lawyers and at every size from 8 lawyers up, yes, even against Clio’s lowest published plan. At 2–3 and 6–7 lawyers Clio Starter costs less, though Starter has no AI.
Does Law Hired charge per user?
No. It charges per firm, by seat band. Adding a lawyer inside the band does not change the bill.
Does either take a percentage of legal fees?
Law Hired takes 0% of your billings on every plan. Clio’s pricing page states a per-user subscription and no percentage of legal fees.
Is AI extra on Law Hired?
No. AI is on every plan; premium models draw on an included monthly credit, and the default model tier and a firm’s own key never do.
Can I move from Clio to Law Hired?
Yes. A Clio migration connector moves matters, contacts, calendar, time, invoices, trust transactions and documents. It is a one-time migration, not a live sync.
Sources
Clio pricing page (read 2026-10-25)
